Search

Home > Staff

Staff

  Academic staff

 

Head of Division

Virna Leaner

Assoc Prof Virna Leaner

Email: virna.leaner@uct.ac.za
Tel:   +27 21 4066250

Research page

 

PhD in Medical Biochemistry:          University of Cape Town, South Africa 1998

Postdoctoral Fellow:                       National Cancer Institute, NIH, Maryland, USA 1998 - 2003

MRC (SA) Career Award Fellow:      University of Cape Town 2004 to July 2006

Senior Lecturer:                              University of Cape Town  Aug 2006

 


Pete Meissner

Prof Peter Meissner

Email: peter.meissner@uct.ac.za
Tel:   +27 21 650 3171

 

 


Arieh KatzProf Arieh A Katz

Email: arieh.katz@uct.ac.za
Tel:    +27 21 406 6268

Research page

 

Arieh Katz received his Ph.D. at the Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel in 1990. Thereafter, he moved to California Institute of Technology, U.S.A. for post-doctoral training in the laboratory of Professor Melvin I. Simon. There, he spent 4 years working on the identification and characterization of G-protein subunits which activate phosphoinositide specific phospholipase C (PI-PLC) and showed that the Gβγ subunits, as well as certain Gα subunits, activate PI-PLC. In 1995, Arieh Katz moved to the Department of Chemical Pathology at University of Cape Town to join the research group of Professor R.P. Millar. There, he got involved in studying the GnRH receptor which is a G protein-coupled receptor that signals via PI-PLC. In 1997 Arieh Katz was awarded a Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellowship in Medical Science which enabled him to set up his own research group and in 1998 Arieh Katz joined the Division of Medical Biochemistry. In 2001 Dr. Katz together with Dr. Colleen Flanagan established the MRC/UCT Research Group for Receptor Biology.

 


Iqbal ParkerProf Iqbal Parker

Email: iqbal.parker@uct.ac.za
Tel:    +27 21 406 6259
Fax:   +27 21 406 6060

Research page
[ IDM member site ]

 

 


Trevor SewellProf Trevor Sewell

Email: trevor.sewell@uct.ac.za

Research page
[ IDM member site ]

 

 

 


Emeritus Prof Robert Millar

Email:   robert.millar@uct.ac.za

 


Denver HendricksAssoc Prof Denver Hendricks

Email: denver.hendricks@uct.ac.za
Tel:    +27 21 406 6269
Fax:   +27 21 406 6061

Research page

 

Denver Hendricks was awarded a BSc cum laude (with majors in Biochemistry and Zoology) at the University of the Western Cape, in South Africa in 1981. He transferred to the University of Cape Town where he was awarded a BSc Med Hons First Class in Medical Biochemistry (1982), and a PhD in Medical Biochemistry (1989) on "HDL and LDL metabolism in HepG2 cells". Thereafter he held a Senior Lectureship in the Biochemistry Department, at the University of the Western Cape (1989 - 1995). In 1996 (up to 2000) he held an International Exchange Scientist and Visiting Fellow position in the laboratory of Michael Birrer at the National Cancer Institute, NIH, USA. Whilst there he examined the molecular mechanisms involved in the development of gynaecologic cancers (mostly ovarian and cervical cancers). In 2001 he joined the Department of Medical Biochemistry at UCT, as a Senior Lecturer, where he has been involved in his research programme exploring the molecular mechanisms of cancer and teaching medical biochemistry to medical students and BSc Hons students


Zenda WoodmanDr Zenda Woodman

E-mail:zl.woodman@uct.ac.za
Tel:    +27 21 406 6480

Research page

 

 

 


Cynthia SikakanaDr Cynthia N T Sikakana

Email:  cynthia.sikakana@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 406 6250

 

BSc                               Wesleyan University, Connecticut, USA

PhD in Biochemistry:      University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Senior Lecturer:              Division of Medical Biochemistry, University of Cape Town

 


Honorary Assoc Prof Luiz Zerbini

Email:   luiz.zerbini@uct.ac.za

 

 

Support staff

 

Sylva Schwager
Chief Scientific Officer

Email:   sylva.schwager@uct.ac.za
Tel:      +27 21 406 6469

 


Catherine Kaschula
Senior Scientific Officer

Email:   catherine.kaschula@uct.ac.za

 


Georgia Schafer
Senior Scientific Officer

Email:   georgia.schafer@uct.ac.za

 


Hajira GuzgayHajira Guzgay
Senior Technical Officer

Email:   hajira.karjiker@uct.ac.za
Tel:+27 21 406 6387 / 6266

 

 

 


 Roshan EbrahimRoshan Ebrahim
Senior Technical Officer

Email:   roshan.ebrahim@uct.ac.za
Tel:      +27 21 406 6446

 

 

 


 

Xolani NonzinyanaXolani Nonzinyana

Email:   xolani.nonzinyana@uct.ac.za
Tel:     +27 21 406 6563 / 6564

 

 

 

 

Administrative Staff

 

Cashifa Karriem

Email:    cashifa.karriem@uct.ac.za
Tel:      +27 21 406 6176


 

Jene Ward

Email:    jene.ward@uct.ac.za
Tel:      +27 21 406 7712